Where am I? > Home > Articles > Volume 22
Archival content

Research article


A checklist of scorpions (Arachnida) in the collections of the National Museum of Natural History (Sofia)

František Kovařik; Petar Beron

29 December 2015 · volume 22 · pp. 37–44 · PDF [full text]

Abstract: The scorpions deposited in the collection of NMNH (Sofia) are identified and revised. The collection contains 61 species of 34 genera and ten families (Bothriuridae, Buthidae, Chaerilidae, Diplocentridae, Euscorpiidae, Liochelidae, Iuridae, Caraboctonidae, Scorpionidae, and Vaejovidae), incl. the holotype and paratypes of Euscorpius deltshevi, the holotype and paratypes of Euscorpius drenskii, the holotype and paratypes of Euscorpius popovi Tropea et al., paratype of Chaerilus tyznai Kov., holotype and paratype of E. beroni Fet, 2000, topotypes of Butheoloides charlotteae Lourenço, 2000 and specimens of the recently described Euscorpiops problematicus (Kovařík, 2000). They were collected mostly by P. Beron and identified mostly by F. Kovařík and V. Fet and come from 34 countries: Bulgaria, Macedonia, Albania, Romania, Greece, Montenegro, Turkey, Italy (incl. Sardinia), France (incl. Corsica), USA, Mexico, Cuba, Dominican Republic, Peru, Chile, Bolivia, Ecuador, Algeria, Morocco, Tunisia, Egypt, Nigeria, Mozambique, Tanzania, Zambia, Zimbabwe, Indonesia, Iran, China (incl. Tibet), Malaysia, Nepal, Thailand, Afghanistan and Papua New Guinea.

— views: 48 (updated daily)

Open access
All journal content is available for free under the Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License (CC BY 4.0).